routemap Oakland Jack London Square Terminal Alameda Main Street Terminal Alameda Harbor Bay Terminal South San Francisco Terminal AT&T Park Terminal SF Ferry Building Terminal SF Pier 41 Terminal Mare Island Terminal Vallejo Terminal

Nicholas Josefowitz appointed to WETA Board

Nicholas Josefowitz appointed to WETA Board

San Francisco, CA (February 2, 2018) Speaker of the Assembly Anthony Rendon has appointed Nicholas Josefowitz to the San Francisco Bay Area Water Emergency Transportation Authority (WETA) Board of Directors, effective January 23, 2018. Josefowitz brings deep experience in transportation to this role, as reflected in his service on the BART Board of Directors, Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority Board of Directors, and the Executive Board of SPUR. After graduating from Harvard University in 2005, Josefowitz founded and ran a successful solar energy development company. He assumes the seat vacated by the December 2017 retirement of Timothy Donovan, and will serve a six-year term.

"Nick’s vast experience and knowledge of the Bay Area’s transportation infrastructure will serve us well as we move forward with implementing our 20-year strategic plan," said Nina Rannells, WETA Executive Director. "In the near term (2018), WETA will add two new passenger only vessels to its SF Bay Ferry fleet; launch service from Richmond; and open the Central Bay Operations and Maintenance Facility, all part of a longer-term strategic plan to bring 44 vessels and 12 services into play by 2035. It’s an exciting time for WETA and we are delighted that Nick is onboard to lend his expertise," she said.

"I am passionate about improving our quality of life here in the Bay Area, and making it easier to get around San Francisco and our entire region," Josefowitz said. "I look forward to combining my entrepreneurial mindset and transportation experience to help deliver more, fast, reliable and frequent ferry service across our Bay."

The WETA Board is comprised of five members serving six-year terms. Three members are appointed by the Governor, one member is appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, and one member is appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly.

Download the Media Advisory (PDF)

Media inquiries please contact:
Ernest Sanchez,, 510.289.2530
MacKenzie Communications,, p. 415.403.0800, c. 650.296.0626

Where do you want to go?



BayAlerts sign-up


Current Alerts